Cooperation with the City of Mainz

Johannes Gutenberg University and the city of Mainz cooperate internationally. The city of Mainz has sister city agreements with Dijon, Haifa, Valencia, and Zagreb, and JGU has established university partnerships with the universities in these cities. Work groups including representatives of the city and JGU address international aspects.Cultural institutes and consulates representing other countries are located in Mainz, offering cultural events and language courses as well as information about their countries and regions.

International scholars and students can address the "Bürgeramt" (Citizen Center) and "Ausländerbehörde" (Aliens Department) in Mainz with questions concerning their stay in Mainz (e.g. registration or residence permit).